NICM Director receives international award for contribution to Chinese Medicine

The International Prize for the Contribution to Chinese Medicine is the only international prize in Chinese medicine awarded by the Chinese Government. This prize is awarded every 1 to 2 years to groups or individuals who have made outstanding achievements in medical treatment, teaching, research, legislation, or have made a special contribution to the international dissemination of Chinese medicine. Up to three awards are granted each year and this is the fifth year of its operation. The award is approved by the Chinese Ministry of Science and Technology.

The WFCMS is an international academic organization with 195 Chinese medicine societies in 57 countries and regions. It is devoted to promoting the understanding of Chinese medicine worldwide and fosters academic cooperation and exchange. WFCMS is approved by the State Council of the People's Republic of China. Its current Chairman is Ms. She Jing, Former Vice-Minister of Health and Former Director of the State Administration of Traditional Chinese Medicine.

In 2013, 31 nominations were received from ten countries. Two individuals and one government agency were granted this prestigious award in 2013. They included:

(Individual) Professor Alan Bensoussan, Director, National Institute of Complementary Medicine, University of Western Sydney, Australia. (Individual) Mr. Ding Xiangyang, Vice Mayor of Beijing (Group) Department of International Cooperation of Standardization Administration of the People's Republic of China The Award Ceremony will be held in the Great Hall of the People, Beijing, China on 29th June 2013. Professor Bensoussan will be presented with a trophy, certificate and $10,000 at the ceremony.

For more information please contact Dimity Pinto on 0412 164 333,