University Excellence Awards 2020

8 December 2020

Western Sydney University’s 2020 Excellence Awards were held via Zoom on Tuesday 8 December 2020. The Awards were presented by Professor Barney Glover AO, Vice-Chancellor and President, Professor Deborah Sweeney, Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Vice-President Research, Enterprise and International and Professor Simon Barrie, Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Vice-President Academic.

Congratulations to:

  • Associate Professor Genevieve Steiner, Professor Chun Guang Li and Professor Gerald Muench who received the ‘Research Excellence Award – Research Excellence Through Partnership’ as members of the Herbal Medicines Supporting Healthy Brain Aging Team. The team has shown an impressive array of research collaborations, with community, industry and international partners. In particular, they have worked with three major Australian companies in projects identifying potent anti-inflammatory drugs extracted from medicinal plants.
  • Dr Mike Armour received a ‘Highly Commended’ for the Vice-Chancellor’s Excellence Award - Excellence as an Early Career Researcher. His research strongly aligns with the University’s health and wellbeing theme and the Australian Government’s first national plan to address endometriosis. Dr Armour translates research findings into accessible formats, including high impact, peer reviewed publications, public engagement, and media resulting in international impact in his field.
  • Associate Professor Xiaoshu Zhu received a ‘Citation for Meritorious Service to the University during the COVID-19 Pandemic’ for her role providing essential support to those in the Greater China region and Eastern Asia ensuring students remain connected and supported during the Pandemic.

NICM Health Research Institute is fortunate to have many passionate and dedicated staff contributing to the University’s success. The University Awards provide an opportunity to recognise and showcase some of the outstanding work being carried out in teaching, postgraduate research and supervision, professional service, engagement, sustainability and leadership.

Congratulations to all the staff and students who were nominated for these prestigious University Awards.